Phonofile Nordic Music Prize

Nominees Phonofile Nordic Music Prize 2014:

• Emilie Nicolas – Like I’m A Warrior
• Gracias – Elengi
• Iceage – Plowing Into The Field Of Love
• Lorentz – Kärlekslåtar
• Lykke Li – I Never Learn
• Neneh Cherry – Blank Project
• Mirel Wagner – When the Cellar Children See the Light of Day
• MØ – No Mythologies To Follow
• Pink Street Boys – Trash From The Boys
• Prins Póló – Sorrí
• Selvhenter – Motions Of Large Bodies
• Todd Terje – It’s Album Time

The jury
Andres Lokko – Journalist, Sweden
Laurence Bell – Domino Records, UK
Jeannette Lee – Rough Trade Records, UK
Jonathan Galkin – DFA Records, US
Jude Rogers – Journalist The Guardian, UK

The event
The winner will be presented Thursday March 5th at by:Larm Festival.
The award ceremony will be held in the TONO lounge at Youngstorget. The capacity is very limited and invited guests will be prioritized, but all registered delegates and accredited press are welcome to join the event.

19.00: Welcome with drinks and snacks
19.30: Introduction of the nominees, runners up and the Best Nordic Album of 2014
20.00: Finished / concerts start

About PNMP
The Phonofile Nordic Music Prize is an annual award for the Best Nordic Album Of The Year, inspired by the British & Irish Mercury Prize and introduced in 2010. The prize was initiated by the by:Larm conference in Norway, the most important conference and showcase event for the wider Nordic music industry. The first Nordic Music Prize was won by Iceland’s Jónsi for his solo debut, GO, and was presented to the artist by H.R.H. The Crown Prince Of Norway during by:Larm in Oslo in February 2011. The second Nordic Music Prize was won by Sweden’s Goran Kajfeš for his album XY, and was presented to the artist by the culture minister of Danmark, Uffe Elbæk. The third Nordic Music Prize was won by Swedish band First Aid Kit for their album The Lions Roar. The fourth award was won by Sweden’s The Knife for thei album Shaking the Habitual, and the price was presented by last years winners, First Aid Kit.

In setting up The Nordic Music Prize, by:Larm had several aims: first, to create even stronger unity across the regions industry; second, to further increase international interest and awareness of what the region has to offer musically; and, last but not least, to refocus on the full length album as an art form.

Every year, an exhaustive selection process involving each Nordic country’s domestic recording industry will lead to representatives converging on Oslo with a list of ten albums from their nation, and these are then whittled down to 12 final nominations.

The Nordic Music Prize Committee:
Ralf Christensen – Denmark
Niclas Elmér – Sweden
Ilkka Mattila – Finland
Audun Vinger – Norway
Arnar Eggert Thoroddsen – Island

Previous Nominees
• Dungen – Skit i allt
• Paleface Helsinki – Shangri-La
• Susanne Sundfør – The Brothel
• Robyn – Body talk
• Efterklang – Magic Chairs
• Serena Maneesh – S-M 2: Abyss in B Minor
• The Radio Dept. – Clinging to a scheme
• Ólöf Arnalds – Innundir skinni
• Kvelertak – Kvelertak
• First Aid Kit – The big black & the blue
• Frisk Frugt – Dansktoppen møder Burkina Faso i det himmelblå rum hvor solen bor, suite
• Jónsi – GO

• Ane Brun – It All Starts With One
• Lykke Li – Wounded Rhymes
• Rubik – Solar
• Gus Gus – Arabian Horse
• Malk De Koijn – Toback To The Fromtime
• Siinai – Olympic Games
• Björk – Biophilia
• Iceage – New Brigade
• Montée – Renditions Of You
• Anna Järvinen – Anna Själv Tredje
• The Field – Looping state of mind
• Goran Kajfeš – XY

• Susanne Sundfør – The Silicon Veil
• Pää kii – Pää kii
• Ásgeir Trausti – Dýrð í dauðaþögn
• Choir of Young Believers – Rhine Gold
• Lindstrøm – Smalhans
• Anna von Hausswolff – Ceremony
• Selvhenter – Frk. B. Fricka
• Retro Stefson – Retro Stefson
• Kerkko Koskinen Kollektiivi – Kerkko Koskinen Kollektiivi
• Neneh Cherry & the Thing – The Cherry Thing
• Tønes – Sån av salve
• First Aid Kit – The Lions Roar

• Atlanter – Vidde
• Jenny Wilson – Demand The Impossible!
• Mona & Maria – My Sun
• Rhye – Woman
• Múm – Smilewound
• Hjaltalín – Enter 4
• The Knife – Shaking The Habitual
• Jenny Hval – Innocence is Kinky
• Death Hawks – Death Hawks
• Minä ja Ville Ahonen – Mia
• Iceage– You’re Nothing + 2
• Synd og skam – Center